Top Five Reads

For as long as I can remember I’ve always loved books. This I’m sure I’ve inherited from my mother ,who like me spends hours at a time reading. As a result of my love of reading I’ve been through a large number of books( In fact I’ve lost count) , so I thought I’d share the ones that have made a lasting impression upon me.(In no particular order)

1. A thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini

This story follows the lives of two afghan women and their daily hardships in modern Afghanistan. Its a real eye opener and is beautifully written, but be warned you will cry. Hosseini’s other novels The Kite Runner and, And the mountains echoed are also amazing. All of his novels are profound and you will still find yourself thinking about them long after you have put them down

 

2. Innocence by Dean Koontz

 

This is a really unusual choice for me. It’s very different from what I ordinarily read and at first I was sceptical, but by the time I had reached the end I was for lack of a better description mind blown. It follows the life of Addison Goodheart a young man whose looks and appearance seem to distress people to a point of violence and so he is forced to hide himself away. This novel has an apocalyptic and slightly scary vibe (Although I am a bit of a naff)  and will keep you guessing until the very end. It’s full of clever plot twists and is original.

 

3. House Rules by Jodi Picoult

 

To be perfectly honest I am just a hard-core Jodi Picoult fan. I’ve been reading her novels since I was in primary school, however I have to say that this one is my favourite. It follows Jacob, a boy with Asperger’s syndrome which is a type of autism who is accused of murder. It focuses on his and his families struggles on dealing with his disability and the court case. I really enjoy her writing style of telling the story from multiple character perspectives and it is clear that a load of research goes into her writing.

 

4. The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

 

This is an amazing novel written in the form of a series of letter from the main character, Charlie to a ‘friend’ during his first year of high school. It’s a coming of age story and sums up life as a teenager perfectly. I think I really love this book because I identify with Charlie so much; he’s shy, self conscious and also loves books. The film version for once is equally as good as the novel and is my favourite movie.

 

5. A Painted House by John Grisham

 

It’s also a coming of age story set on a cotton farm in rural Arkansas 1952. It follows the life of a young boy called Luke and his interpretation of the adult goings on around him. It is beautifully written and very descriptive, paired with a fascinating storyline and complex characters it is unforgettable.

DSC04799edited.jpg

Bambi<3

Leave a Reply

